Post Reply 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
7 Deadly Sins... and then some
03-17-2012, 07:59 AM
Post: #1
7 Deadly Sins... and then some
In the Book of Proverbs (Mishlai), King Solomon stated that the Lord specifically regards "six things the Lord hateth, and the seventh His soul detesteth." namely:[4]

1 A proud look.
2 A lying tongue.
3 Hands that shed innocent blood.
4 A heart that devises wicked plots.
5 Feet that are swift to run into mischief.
6 A deceitful witness that uttereth lies.
7 Him that soweth discord among brethren.

By Paul's account in Galatians though it was these:

1 adultery
2 fornication
3 uncleanness
4 lasciviousness
5 idolatry
6 sorcery
7 hatred
8 variance
9 emulations
10 wrath
11 strife
12 seditions
13 heresies
14 envyings
15 murders
16 drunkenness
17 revellings, "and such like"

Since Saint Paul goes on to say that the persons who commit these sins "shall not inherit the Kingdom of God", they are usually listed as (possible) mortal sins rather than Capital Vices.

Pope Gregory I revised this list to form the more common Seven Deadly Sins, by folding sorrow/despair into acedia, vainglory into pride, and adding envy. The list is as such

1 luxuria (lechery/lust)[9][10][11]
2 gula (gluttony)
3 avaritia (avarice/greed)
4 acedia (acedia/discouragement/sloth)
5 ira (wrath)
6 invidia (envy)
7 superbia (pride)


Now, for a detail of each one refer to this link
Or This one
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 

User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)